The Dale W. Nelson Award


The Dale W. Nelson Award is available to students registered in the History BA programme or History majors in the Arts and Contemporary Studies (ACS) programme studying for at least one semester abroad as part of an international exchange.

The award, formerly known as the History Travel Award, was founded by Dr. Arne Kislenko in 2006 with the belief that an international educational experience gives students a greater appreciation of diversity in the world, and simultaneously increases their self-confidence and independence. The award is now named for Dale W. Nelson (1958-1993), Dr. Kislenko’s best friend and brother-in-law, whose intellectual curiosity, legendary humour, and love of History were always inspirational.

Previous awards:

2007 Julian Reid

2008 Samantha Stevens-Hall

2009 2014 not awarded

2015 Muna Osman

2016 not awarded

2017 Noa Bordan and Erin Pebesma

2018 not awarded

Details about the Award: see the 2019 call for applications (available in October 2018)

About Dale Nelson:About Dale Nelson

posted under Announcements

Comments are closed.


Ryerson Courses

Trinity Courses



Essay Writing


Dr. Kislenko